The average GPA and MCAT score for students entering U.S. MD medical schools in 2025-2026 was a 3.81 GPA and a 512.1 MCAT (AAMC, 2025). DO students who entered in 2025 averaged a 3.62 GPA and a 502.95 MCAT (AACOM, 2025). The school-by-school chart below lists 210 U.S. MD and DO schools.
The school figures come from each institution’s admissions or class profile page, but they are not perfectly uniform. Schools report different class years and may publish a mean, median or average for accepted students. Some also report a science GPA instead of an overall GPA, so you need to read the label attached to each figure before making comparisons.
Medical School GPA and MCAT Figures at a Glance
- For 2025-2026, U.S. MD matriculants had a mean GPA of 3.81 and mean MCAT score of 512.1 (AAMC, 2025).
- Students entering DO programs in 2025 had a mean overall GPA of 3.62 and mean MCAT score of 502.95 (AACOM, 2025).
- The school table covers 210 schools. Of those, 133 publish a recent GPA figure, MCAT figure or both on their own websites: 109 MD programs and 24 DO programs.
- Published school MCAT averages and medians run from 499 to 523, and published overall GPA figures run from 3.45 to 3.98.
- A school average or median describes a group of students. It is not automatically an admissions minimum or a prediction of your result.
Reading Average GPA and MCAT Figures
A medical school’s average or median shows you the academic profile of a particular group. It does not establish a cutoff unless the school separately identifies it as a minimum. A mean is the arithmetic average for the group, while a median is the middle value when the results are ordered. Those measures can be close, but they are not interchangeable.
You also need to identify who belongs to the reported group. A figure for accepted students may include people who chose to enroll elsewhere. A figure for enrolled students describes the entering class. The table on this page labels which figure each school reports, so check that label when you compare rows.
GPA labels require the same care. An overall GPA reflects all included coursework, while a science GPA focuses on the applicable science coursework. A few schools in the table publish a science GPA rather than an overall GPA. Our guide to science GPA and overall GPA explains the distinction in more detail.
These figures provide context, not a personal admissions prediction. The AAMC guidance on MCAT score myths says that applicants do not need one particular MCAT score to be competitive. Admissions officers consider MCAT scores alongside experiences, attributes, demographics and transcripts. Students are accepted across a wide range of scores, and high grades and test scores do not guarantee admission. If you want to examine GPA and MCAT results together, use our separate MCAT GPA grid rather than treating either measure in isolation.
Average GPA and MCAT Scores for MD Programs Nationally
AAMC FACTS Table A-16 reports national MCAT and GPA figures for applicants and matriculants to U.S. MD-granting medical schools. For 2025-2026, the 54,699 applicants had a mean total GPA of 3.67, mean science GPA of 3.57 and mean MCAT score of 506.3. The 23,440 matriculants had a mean total GPA of 3.81, mean science GPA of 3.75 and mean MCAT score of 512.1 (AAMC FACTS Table A-16, 2025). For how a given score ranks among all test takers, see our MCAT percentiles and score range breakdown.
Applicant and matriculant means answer different questions. The applicant figures describe everyone included in the applicant data, while the matriculant figures describe people who entered an MD program. Comparing your score only with the matriculant mean can therefore give you an incomplete view of the national pool.
The AAMC data also provides useful historical context. The mean MCAT score for MD matriculants was 511.5 in 2020-2021 and 512.1 in 2025-2026. Over the same period, the applicant mean changed from 506.4 to 506.3. These figures describe national groups across two academic years, not a score requirement established by an individual medical school.
Grades moved more than test scores over the same stretch. The mean total GPA of MD matriculants rose from 3.73 in 2020-2021 to 3.79 in 2024-2025 and 3.81 in 2025-2026, while the applicant mean rose from 3.60 to 3.67 (AAMC FACTS Table A-16, 2025). A 3.73 GPA equaled the matriculant mean in 2020-2021; by 2025-2026 it sat 0.08 points below it.
The table notes add two qualifications. About 2% of individuals apply each year without an MCAT score and are excluded from the MCAT means. Starting with 2025-2026, the MCAT data includes exam scores through August. For help placing these national means within the broader score scale, read our guide to what counts as a good MCAT score.
How Does the National Average Compare With All MCAT Test Takers?
The 512.1 matriculant mean sits near the 84th percentile of all MCAT results, where a 512 ranks. The overall mean of all test takers is 500.6, which falls between the 48th percentile for a 500 and the 52nd for a 501 (AAMC percentile ranks, 2026). Those ranks are in effect from May 1, 2026 through April 30, 2027 and draw on the 2023, 2024 and 2025 testing years.
Average GPA and MCAT Scores for DO Programs Nationally
The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine admissions information reports that students entering U.S. osteopathic medical schools in 2025 had a mean MCAT score of 502.95 (AACOM, 2025). Their mean overall GPA was 3.62, with a mean science GPA of 3.53 and mean non-science GPA of 3.73.
A separate AACOM applicant and matriculant MCAT report gives a 2024 mean of 502.43 for applicants and 502.97 for matriculants (AACOM, 2024). These averages use each applicant’s most recent MCAT attempt and cover verified applicants. They leave out schools that use the Texas application service, TMDAS, so the results should not be read as including every DO program.
The same AACOM report shows the DO matriculant mean has moved within a narrow band. It was 502.07 in 2016, peaked at 504.73 in 2021 and stood at 502.97 in 2024 (AACOM, 2024). The applicant mean ran from 500.14 in 2016 to 502.43 in 2024, so the gap between DO applicants and DO matriculants is far smaller than the gap on the MD side.
The 2025 entering-student figures are the more recent national reference for DO students, while the 2024 report allows a direct comparison between applicants and matriculants. Neither replaces a school’s own admissions information. If you are deciding which degree path fits your goals, our MD vs DO guide provides additional context beyond GPA and MCAT figures.
Average GPA and MCAT Score by Medical School
The table below is a chart of average GPA and MCAT scores for 210 U.S. medical schools: 163 MD rows and 47 DO rows. 133 schools publish a recent figure on their own admissions or class profile page, and each of those school names links to that source page. The other rows are marked so you know to check the school directly, and a school’s own figure always takes priority over a figure from any other source.
| Medical school | State | Type | GPA | MCAT | Figure reported | Class |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A.T. Still University Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine | MO | DO | 3.69 | 503 | Average | 2025 entering class |
| A.T. Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona | AZ | DO | 3.57 | 502 | Average | 2025 entering class |
| Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine | AL | DO | 3.45 | 504 | Competitive average | Year not stated |
| Albany Medical College | NY | MD | 3.82 | 512 | Average | Most recent incoming class |
| Albert Einstein College of Medicine | NY | MD | See school site | See school site | Check the school's admissions page | |
| Alice L. Walton School of Medicine | AR | MD | See school site | See school site | Check the school's admissions page | |
| Anne Burnett Marion School of Medicine at TCU | TX | MD | 3.81 | 513 | Average | Entering class of 2026 |
| Arizona State University John Shufeldt School of Medicine and Medical Engineering | AZ | MD | 3.79 | 511 | Average MCAT; GPA as listed | Class of 2030 (inaugural class) |
| Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine | AR | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Baptist Health Sciences University College of Osteopathic Medicine | TN | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Baylor College of Medicine | TX | MD | 3.93 | 518 | Average | 2026 entering class |
| Belmont University Thomas F. Frist, Jr. College of Medicine | TN | MD | 3.81 | 510 | Median | Class of 2029 |
| Boston University Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine | MA | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine | NM | DO | 3.47 | 500 | Mean, both campuses | 2025 entrance year |
| California Health Sciences University College of Osteopathic Medicine | CA | DO | 3.59 | 507.1 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| California Northstate University College of Medicine | CA | MD | 3.84 | 515 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| California University of Science and Medicine | CA | MD | Not published | 510 | Average | Most recent incoming class |
| Campbell University Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine | NC | DO | 3.60 | 505 | Average | Most recent matriculated class |
| Carle Illinois College of Medicine | IL | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine | OH | MD | 3.87 | 518 | Average | Entering class of 2026 |
| Central Michigan University College of Medicine | MI | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Charles R. Drew University College of Medicine | CA | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine | OH | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons | NY | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Cooper Medical School of Rowan University | NJ | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Creighton University School of Medicine | NE | MD | 3.88 | 512 | Median GPA; average MCAT | Class of 2030 |
| CUNY School of Medicine | NY | MD | See school site | See school site | Check the school's admissions page | |
| D'Youville University College of Osteopathic Medicine | NY | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA | CA | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin | TX | MD | 3.93 | 517 | Average | Class of 2029 |
| Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine | IA | DO | About 3.7 | About 507 | Approximate average | Year not stated |
| Drexel University College of Medicine | PA | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Duke University School of Medicine | NC | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Duquesne University Nasuti College of Osteopathic Medicine | PA | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| East Carolina University Brody School of Medicine | NC | MD | 3.74 | 511 | Average for accepted students | Class of 2030 |
| East Tennessee State University Quillen College of Medicine | TN | MD | 3.82 | 512 | Average for accepted students | 2026 entering class (as of April 27, 2026) |
| Eastern Virginia Medical School at Old Dominion University | VA | MD | 3.70 | 513 | Mean | Recent matriculants |
| Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine | VA | DO | Not published | 500-506 | Range for accepted students, all campuses | Year not stated |
| Emory University School of Medicine | GA | MD | 3.83 | 515.1 | Average GPA; mean MCAT | Fall 2026 first-year class |
| Florida Atlantic University Schmidt College of Medicine | FL | MD | 3.85 | 515 | Mean | Entering class of 2025 |
| Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine | FL | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Florida State University College of Medicine | FL | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine at Quinnipiac University | CT | MD | 3.7 | 511 | Median | Class of 2029 |
| Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth | NH | MD | 3.77 | 516 | Average | Year not stated |
| Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine | PA | MD | See school site | See school site | Check the school's admissions page | |
| George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences | DC | MD | About 3.88 | 515 | Average | Year not stated |
| Georgetown University School of Medicine | DC | MD | 3.74 | 514 | Mean | Most recent entering class |
| Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine | NJ | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Harvard Medical School | MA | MD | 3.96 | 521.07 | Average | Entering class of 2026 |
| Howard University College of Medicine | DC | MD | Not published | 505 | Mean | Matriculating class, year not stated |
| Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai | NY | MD | 3.95 | 519 | Median | Class of 2030 |
| Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine | ID | DO | 3.54 | 505.4 | Average | Incoming class, year not stated |
| Indiana University School of Medicine | IN | MD | 3.84 | 512.4 | Average | Class of 2029 |
| Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University at Buffalo | NY | MD | 3.8 | 511 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine | MD | MD | 3.94 | 520 | Average, MD and MD-PhD combined | Class of 2028 |
| Kaiser Permanente Bernard J. Tyson School of Medicine | CA | MD | 3.85 | 515 | Mean | Class of 2030 |
| Kansas City University College of Osteopathic Medicine | MO | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Kansas College of Osteopathic Medicine | KS | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Keck School of Medicine of USC | CA | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine at UNLV | NV | MD | 3.78 | 509 | Average | Class of 2029 |
| Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine | PA | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University | PA | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Liberty University College of Osteopathic Medicine | VA | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Lincoln Memorial University DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine | TN | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Loma Linda University School of Medicine | CA | MD | 3.85 | 510 | Average | 2026 entering class |
| Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine | IL | MD | 3.86 | 513 | Mean | Class of 2030 |
| LSU Health New Orleans School of Medicine | LA | MD | 3.76 | 509 | Average | Fall 2025 entering class |
| LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine | LA | MD | 3.7-3.8 | 507 | Average for successful applicants | Recent years |
| Marian University Tom and Julie Wood College of Osteopathic Medicine | IN | DO | 3.78 | 503 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine | WV | MD | 3.84 | 512 | Average | 2026 entering class |
| Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine | MN | MD | 3.97 | 521 | Median, all campuses | 2026 first-year class |
| McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston | TX | MD | 3.84 | 512 | Average | Class of 2029 |
| Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University | GA | MD | 3.8 | 512 | Average | Class of 2029 |
| Medical College of Wisconsin | WI | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Medical University of South Carolina College of Medicine | SC | MD | 3.85 | 511 | Average | Class of 2029 |
| Meharry Medical College School of Medicine | TN | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Mercer University School of Medicine | GA | MD | 3.65 | 502 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| Meritus School of Osteopathic Medicine | MD | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Michigan State University College of Human Medicine | MI | MD | See school site | See school site | Check the school's admissions page | |
| Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine | MI | DO | See school site | See school site | Check the school's admissions page | |
| Midwestern University Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine | AZ | DO | 3.58 | 504 | Average | Class of 2028 |
| Midwestern University Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine | IL | DO | 3.65 | 509 | Average | Class of 2029 |
| Morehouse School of Medicine | GA | MD | 3.64 | 505.6 | Average | Class of 2025 |
| New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine | NY | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| New York Medical College School of Medicine | NY | MD | 3.77 | 516 | Average | Class of 2028 |
| Noorda College of Osteopathic Medicine | UT | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Northeast Ohio Medical University College of Medicine | OH | MD | 3.76 | 511 | Average | Fall 2026 entering class |
| Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine | IL | MD | 3.95 | 520 | Median | 2026 entering class |
| Nova Southeastern University Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Allopathic Medicine | FL | MD | 3.75 | 512 | Mean | 2026 class |
| Nova Southeastern University Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine | FL | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| NYU Grossman Long Island School of Medicine | NY | MD | 3.95 | 516 | Median | Year not stated |
| NYU Grossman School of Medicine | NY | MD | 3.98 | 523 | Median | Incoming class admitted in 2026 |
| Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine | MI | MD | 3.90 | 509 | Median | Class of 2030 |
| Ohio State University College of Medicine | OH | MD | 3.86 | 513 | Class GPA and MCAT composite | 2026 class |
| Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine | OH | DO | 3.67 | 505.08 | Mean | First-year class of 2030 |
| Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine | OK | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Oregon Health & Science University School of Medicine | OR | MD | 3.66 | 509 | Average | Year not stated |
| Orlando College of Osteopathic Medicine | FL | DO | 3.63 | 501 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine | WA | DO | 3.6 | 503 | Average (highest MCAT) | 2025 matriculants |
| Penn State College of Medicine | PA | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania | PA | MD | 3.98 | 522 | Median | 2026-27 entering class |
| Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (Philadelphia campus) | PA | DO | Not published | 505 | Average | Entering class of 2026 |
| Ponce Health Sciences University School of Medicine | PR | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University | NY | MD | 3.92 | 89th percentile | Average (MCAT as a percentile) | Fall 2026 entering class |
| Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine | CO | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Rocky Vista University Montana College of Osteopathic Medicine | MT | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Rosalind Franklin University Chicago Medical School | IL | MD | 3.72 | 508 | As listed (cumulative GPA and MCAT) | 2026 entering class |
| Roseman University College of Medicine | NV | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine | NJ | DO | 3.70 (science) | 509 | Average for accepted students (science GPA) | 2026 entering class |
| Rush Medical College | IL | MD | 3.72 | 510 | Average | 2025 entering class |
| Rutgers New Jersey Medical School | NJ | MD | 3.7 | 514 | Average | Entering class of 2020 |
| Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School | NJ | MD | See school site | See school site | Check the school's admissions page | |
| Saint Louis University School of Medicine | MO | MD | 3.88 | 514 | Average for accepted traditional pathway candidates | Entry in July 2026 |
| Sam Houston State University College of Osteopathic Medicine | TX | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| San Juan Bautista School of Medicine | PR | MD | 3.57 | 499 | Average | Class admitted in 2021 |
| Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University | PA | MD | 3.80 (science) | 514 | Average (science GPA) | 2026 entering class |
| Southern Illinois University School of Medicine | IL | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Stanford University School of Medicine | CA | MD | See school site | See school site | Check the school's admissions page | |
| SUNY Downstate College of Medicine | NY | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| SUNY Upstate Norton College of Medicine | NY | MD | See school site | See school site | Check the school's admissions page | |
| Texas A&M University College of Medicine | TX | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Paul L. Foster School of Medicine | TX | MD | 3.84 | 509 | Average | Entry year 2025 |
| Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine | TX | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine | NY | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Touro University California College of Osteopathic Medicine | CA | DO | 3.58 | 507 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| Touro University Nevada College of Osteopathic Medicine | NV | DO | 3.54 | 506.9 | Average | Entering class, year not stated |
| Tufts University School of Medicine | MA | MD | 3.84 | 514 | Mean | Class of 2030 |
| Tulane University School of Medicine | LA | MD | 3.71 | 509 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| UCSF School of Medicine | CA | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| UMass Chan Medical School | MA | MD | See school site | See school site | Check the school's admissions page | |
| Uniformed Services University F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine | MD | MD | 3.6 | 510 | Average | Year not stated |
| Universidad Central del Caribe School of Medicine | PR | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham Heersink School of Medicine | AL | MD | 3.88 | 509 | Average GPA; class MCAT score | 2026 entering class |
| University of Arizona College of Medicine – Phoenix | AZ | MD | 3.84 | 515 | Median MCAT; GPA as listed | Class of 2030 |
| University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson | AZ | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Medicine | AR | MD | 3.86 | 510 | Average for accepted applicants | Class that started in 2026 |
| UC Davis School of Medicine | CA | MD | 3.71 | 511 | Average | Class of 2029 |
| UC Irvine School of Medicine | CA | MD | 3.87 | 516 | Median | 2026 first-year class |
| UC Riverside School of Medicine | CA | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| UC San Diego School of Medicine | CA | MD | 3.86 | 514.6 | Average | Incoming class of 2026 |
| University of Central Florida College of Medicine | FL | MD | 3.94 | 514 | Average | Last year's enrolled class |
| University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine | IL | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of Cincinnati College of Medicine | OH | MD | 3.97 | 515 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| University of Colorado School of Medicine | CO | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of Connecticut School of Medicine | CT | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of Florida College of Medicine | FL | MD | 3.85 (science) | 516 | Average (science GPA) | Current students, year not stated |
| University of Hawaii John A. Burns School of Medicine | HI | MD | 3.79 | 513 | Average | 2026 entering class |
| University of Houston Fertitta Family College of Medicine | TX | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of Illinois College of Medicine | IL | MD | 3.82 | 511 | Average | Class of 2029 |
| University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine | IA | MD | Not published | 514 | Mean | 2026 entering class |
| University of Kansas School of Medicine | KS | MD | 3.84 | 509 | Mean | Entering class of 2025 |
| University of Kentucky College of Medicine | KY | MD | 3.84 | 508 | Average | Class of 2029 |
| University of Louisville School of Medicine | KY | MD | 3.78 | 508 | Average | Recent incoming class, year not stated |
| University of Maryland School of Medicine | MD | MD | 3.84 | 514 | Average for accepted students | 2026 entering class |
| University of Miami Miller School of Medicine | FL | MD | 3.85 | 516 | Average | Class of 2029 |
| University of Michigan Medical School | MI | MD | 3.82 | 90.1st percentile | Class average (MCAT as a percentile) | Most recent incoming class |
| University of Minnesota Medical School | MN | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of Mississippi School of Medicine | MS | MD | 3.79 (science) | 506 | Average (BCPM GPA) | Class of 2030 |
| University of Missouri School of Medicine | MO | MD | 3.84 | 511 | Average | Class of 2029 |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine | MO | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Medicine | NE | MD | 3.84 | 511 | Average | Class of 2028 |
| University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine | NV | MD | See school site | See school site | Check the school's admissions page | |
| University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine | ME | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of New Mexico School of Medicine | NM | MD | 3.77 | 506 | Average | 2026 entering class |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine | NC | MD | 3.6-3.7 (science) | 512 | Average (science GPA range) | Year not stated |
| University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences | ND | MD | 3.7-3.8 (science) | 506-508 | Range of averages | Last four admissions cycles |
| University of Northern Colorado College of Osteopathic Medicine | CO | DO | 3.47 | 506 | Average | Inaugural class, fall 2026 |
| University of Oklahoma College of Medicine | OK | MD | 3.86 | 509 | Average | Class entering in 2023 |
| University of Oklahoma College of Medicine, Tulsa campus (School of Community Medicine) | OK | MD | 3.79 | 511 | Average | Admitted in 2025 |
| University of Pikeville Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine | KY | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine | PA | MD | 3.91 | 516 | Median | Class of 2029 |
| University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine | PR | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry | NY | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of South Alabama Whiddon College of Medicine | AL | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of South Carolina School of Medicine Columbia | SC | MD | 3.80 | 509 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville | SC | MD | 3.7-3.75 | 509 | Typical for matriculants | Most recently admitted class |
| University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine | SD | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of South Florida Morsani College of Medicine | FL | MD | 3.98 | 521 | Median | Class of 2030 |
| University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Medicine | TN | MD | 3.86 | 511 | Average | 2026 entering class |
| University of Texas at Tyler School of Medicine | TX | MD | 3.81 | 503 | Average | Entering year 2025 |
| University of Texas Medical Branch John Sealy School of Medicine | TX | MD | About 3.78 | 513 | Approximate average | Year not stated |
| University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine | TX | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of the Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine | TX | DO | 3.7 | 506 | Average | Entering class of 2026 |
| University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences | OH | MD | 3.81 | 510 | Average | 2026 entering class |
| University of Utah Spencer Fox Eccles School of Medicine | UT | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of Vermont Larner College of Medicine | VT | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| University of Virginia School of Medicine | VA | MD | 3.91 | 520 | Mean | Class of 2030 |
| University of Washington School of Medicine | WA | MD | See school site | See school site | Check the school's admissions page | |
| University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health | WI | MD | 3.81 | 511 | Average | Entering class of 2026 |
| UNT Health Fort Worth Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine | TX | DO | 3.82 | 507.2 | Average | Fall 2025 entering class |
| UT Health San Antonio Long School of Medicine | TX | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| UT Southwestern Medical School | TX | MD | 3.93 | 517 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| Valley College of Osteopathic Medicine | AZ | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Vanderbilt University School of Medicine | TN | MD | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine | VA | MD | 3.79 | 512 | Average | Year not stated |
| Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine | VA | MD | 3.66 | 511 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| Wake Forest University School of Medicine | NC | MD | 3.82 | 511 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University | RI | MD | Not published | 516 | Median | Most recent class |
| Washington State University Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine | WA | MD | 3.72 | 508.8 | Mean | Class of 2030 |
| Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis | MO | MD | 3.88 | 520 | Mean, MD and MD-PhD combined | Entering class of 2025 |
| Wayne State University School of Medicine | MI | MD | 3.88 | 512 | Median for accepted applicants | 2025 accepted applicants |
| Weill Cornell Medicine | NY | MD | 3.90 | 518 | Median | Class of 2028 |
| West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine | WV | DO | 3.60 (science) | 503 | Average (science GPA) | Year not stated |
| West Virginia University School of Medicine | WV | MD | 3.77 (science) | 510 | Average (science GPA) | Class of 2030 |
| Western Michigan University Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine | MI | MD | 3.81 | 513 | Average | Class of 2030 |
| Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific | CA | DO | 3.74 | 508 | Average, Pomona and Lebanon campuses combined | Class entering August 2025 |
| William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine | MS | DO | Not published | Not published | No class average posted | |
| Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine | OH | MD | 3.68 (science) | 508.76 | Average (science GPA; highest MCAT) | Class of 2028 |
| Yale School of Medicine | CT | MD | 3.94 | 523 | Median | Class of 2029 |
| Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell | NY | MD | 3.85 | 518 | Median | 2026 incoming class |
The MCAT figures published by schools in the table above range from 499 to 523, while their published overall GPA figures range from 3.45 to 3.98. Those endpoints summarize what appears in this particular set of school-published data. They are not national minimums, recommended targets or boundaries for where you should apply.
The table also shows why the figure label is essential. Nineteen of the schools with figures report a median for at least one measure. Nine report averages for accepted or successful applicants instead of enrolled students, and nine list a science GPA rather than an overall GPA. Two schools, Michigan and Stony Brook, publish their MCAT figure only as a percentile. The represented entering classes range from 2020 through 2026 because schools update their pages on different schedules, though 96 of the dated rows describe students who entered in 2025 or 2026.
How Should You Read a School Row?
Begin with the class year, then check whether the row describes enrolled or accepted students. Next, identify whether the school reports a mean or median and whether its GPA is an overall or science GPA. Only after checking those fields should you compare the row with your own results. Two rows with similar numbers may describe different groups or measures, so the values alone do not provide the full comparison.
Which Medical Schools Have the Lowest Average MCAT Scores?
San Juan Bautista School of Medicine reports the lowest MD figure in the table, a 499 average for the class admitted in 2021, the most recent class it publishes (San Juan Bautista, 2021). Among U.S. MD schools reporting a 2025 or 2026 class, Mercer University School of Medicine (502, Class of 2030) and the University of Texas at Tyler (503, entering year 2025) post the lowest averages. On the DO side, Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine reports a 500 mean and Orlando College of Osteopathic Medicine a 501 average. See our list of medical schools accepting low MCAT scores for the minimum policies behind these numbers.
Which Medical Schools Have the Highest Average MCAT Scores?
Yale School of Medicine (median 523, Class of 2029) and NYU Grossman School of Medicine (median 523, class admitted in 2026) post the highest figures in the table. Penn reports a 522 median, and Harvard, USF Morsani and Mayo Clinic Alix each report 521. The highest published overall GPA figures are 3.98, reported by Penn, NYU Grossman and USF Morsani as medians.
Medical School GPA Requirements
What GPA Do You Need for Medical School?
Most U.S. MD students enter with a GPA well above 3.5: the 2025-2026 matriculant mean was 3.81, and 116 of the school rows above with an overall GPA figure sit between 3.45 and 3.98. Some schools set a formal GPA floor, usually between 2.7 and 3.5, while many others publish no GPA cutoff at all.
What Are Medical School Acceptance Rates by GPA?
AAMC FACTS Table A-23 combines three application cycles, 2023-2024 through 2025-2026, for U.S. MD-granting schools. Across all MCAT scores, applicants with a total GPA above 3.79 had a 63.7% acceptance rate. The rate was 42.4% for a 3.60-3.79 GPA, 29.7% for 3.40-3.59, 20.8% for 3.20-3.39, 15.9% for 3.00-3.19 and 11.5% for 2.80-2.99 (AAMC FACTS Table A-23, 2025). The all-applicant rate was 45.1%.
Those rates mix every MCAT score into each GPA band, so they also reflect test results. Applicants with a 3.20-3.39 GPA and a 510-513 MCAT, for example, had a 42.3% acceptance rate, about the same as the whole 3.60-3.79 band (AAMC FACTS Table A-23, 2025). The figures describe large national groups and should not be read as a personal prediction.
Do Medical Schools Have a Minimum GPA Requirement?
Some do. The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley requires at least a 3.0 overall GPA and a 3.2 science GPA (UTRGV, 2026). Florida State University College of Medicine looks for at least a 3.5 undergraduate GPA along with a 500 MCAT, outside special circumstances (FSU, 2026). Midwestern University’s two osteopathic colleges set a 2.75 minimum for both total and science GPA (Midwestern University, 2026).
Many others publish no GPA minimum. Northwestern Feinberg, Dell Medical School, UTMB, Wayne State, LSU Health Shreveport and the University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville each state on their admissions pages that they set no GPA cutoff. A missing cutoff does not mean every GPA is competitive, so compare your GPA with the school’s published class figure as well.
How to Use School Averages When Building Your School List
Use school averages as comparison points rather than automatic application decisions. First, calculate your GPA with our medical school GPA calculator. Then estimate your MCAT score from a recent practice test with the MCAT score calculator.
Compare both results with the correctly labeled school figures. As the AAMC guidance above makes clear, a result above a school’s published figure is not a guarantee, and a result below it is not a rejection. The table gives you academic context for further research, but it cannot determine how a school will evaluate your application.
Pay particular attention when only one of your two academic measures resembles the school’s figure. A GPA comparison does not erase the MCAT comparison, and an MCAT comparison does not change the GPA recorded in your application. Looking at both helps you avoid forming a school list around a single favorable number.
State residency also shapes a list. Several public schools publish separate standards for in-state and out-of-state applicants. The Medical University of South Carolina, for example, lists a 500 MCAT and 3.0 GPA minimum for South Carolina residents and a 511 MCAT and 3.7 GPA for out-of-state applicants ({ext(‘https://medicine.musc.edu/programs/doctor-medicine/admissions/selection-criteria’, ‘MUSC, 2026’)}).
When Your Numbers Fall Below Many School Figures
If your results fall below the published figures for many schools you are considering, start by checking that you compared the same measures. Confirm the class year, population and GPA type, then review the range of schools that publish usable data. Our guide to medical schools that accept lower MCAT scores can help you continue that research without assuming that one average creates a fixed cutoff.
You can also use the guide to what MCAT score you need for medical school when setting a study target. A target should support your preparation and school research, but it is not a score that assures admission.
Numbers are only part of a file. Admissions officers weigh experiences and attributes alongside MCAT scores and transcripts (AAMC, 2026), so hands-on patient care can strengthen an application with lower stats. A pre-medicine internship abroad is one way to add supervised clinical experience while you raise your GPA or prepare to retest.
Reasons School Figures Differ From One Source to Another
School figures can differ because the labels and reporting periods differ. One page may show a mean for enrolled students, while another shows a median or an average for accepted students. A GPA may represent overall coursework or science coursework. Even when two sources refer to the same institution, they may describe different entering classes.
Timing creates another source of variation. Schools update their admissions and class profile pages on their own schedules, so a page edited recently can still show an older class. Some schools also move their profiles to new pages, as Marshall and Mercer have done with their newest class figures.
Before applying, return to the school’s own website and confirm the population, measure and class year. Read the text around the figure rather than copying the number alone. That approach helps you distinguish a current school-published statistic from a value that describes a different group or period.
Putting the GPA and MCAT Figures Into Practice
Begin with the national MD or DO figures that match the program type you are researching, then examine each school’s labeled row. Compare like with like and use the results to identify where you need more school-specific research rather than treating an average as a final decision.
If you want individualized help assessing your school list and application plan, our medical school admissions consulting is a possible next step. Whether you seek guidance or work independently, keep the class year, reported population and type of average beside every comparison you make.
Frequently Asked Questions
What Are the Average GPA and MCAT Scores for Medical Schools?
For U.S. MD-granting medical schools in 2025-2026, matriculants had a mean total GPA of 3.81 and a mean MCAT score of 512.1. Applicants had a mean total GPA of 3.67 and a mean MCAT score of 506.3. Individual medical schools publish different figures, from 499 to 523 on the MCAT, so check the class year, population and measure before comparing a school with the national means.
What Is the Average MCAT Score for DO Schools?
The mean MCAT score for students entering U.S. osteopathic medical schools in 2025 was 502.95, according to AACOM. In AACOM’s separate 2024 report, the applicant mean was 502.43 and the matriculant mean was 502.97. That report excludes schools using TMDAS and uses each applicant’s most recent MCAT attempt.
What Is the Average GPA for Medical School?
For students entering U.S. MD-granting medical schools in 2025-2026, the mean total GPA was 3.81 and the mean science GPA was 3.75. For students entering DO schools in 2025, AACOM reported a mean overall GPA of 3.62 and mean science GPA of 3.53. These are national means for different program groups, not universal requirements.
Is the Average MCAT Score at a Medical School a Minimum Requirement?
No. An average MCAT score describes the reported group and should not be treated as a minimum unless the school separately identifies a minimum. The AAMC says applicants do not need one particular MCAT score to be competitive and that students are accepted with a wide range of scores.
Why Do Some Medical Schools Report a Median Instead of an Average?
Schools choose different ways to summarize a class. A mean is the arithmetic average, while a median is the middle value after the results are ordered. Nineteen of the schools with figures in the table report a median for at least one measure, so keep that label in mind instead of treating every published figure as a mean.
Where Can I Find a Medical School’s Current GPA and MCAT Figures?
Check the medical school’s own admissions or entering-class profile page. Confirm that the page identifies the class year, whether the students were accepted or enrolled, whether the measure is a mean or median and whether the GPA is overall or science. Schools update their pages on different schedules, so verify the details again before applying.
Should I Apply to a School When My GPA or MCAT Is Below Its Average?
A result below a school’s average does not automatically mean you should not apply. First check whether you are comparing the same class year, student population and GPA measure. The AAMC reports that students are accepted across a wide range of MCAT scores, while high MCAT scores and GPAs do not guarantee admission.
What GPA Do You Need to Get Into Medical School?
No single GPA is required, but most MD students enter with a GPA near 3.8: the 2025-2026 matriculant mean was 3.81. Across three recent cycles, applicants with a GPA above 3.79 had a 63.7% acceptance rate, compared with 29.7% for a 3.40-3.59 GPA and 15.9% for a 3.00-3.19 GPA.
Which Medical Schools Have the Lowest Average MCAT Scores?
Among schools that publish figures, San Juan Bautista reports a 499 average for its class admitted in 2021. Mercer reports a 502 average for its Class of 2030 and UT Tyler a 503 for entering year 2025. Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine reports a 500 mean and Orlando College of Osteopathic Medicine a 501 average.









