Applications Open for Summer & Winter 2027 Programs
Develop Your Healthcare Career and Explore the World
OAT Exam Sections, Scoring and What Schools Expect
You're reading

OAT Exam Sections, Scoring and What Schools Expect

Written by
International Medical AID
on September 24th, 2026

READING TIME
19 minutes

The OAT exam is the standardized admission test for applicants to U.S. schools and colleges of optometry. It is governed by the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry, implemented by the American Dental Association’s Department of Testing Services and delivered at Prometric test centers, according to the 2026 OAT Candidate Guide.

Your score can affect where your application is competitive, but schools also consider your academic record, experiences, interview and professional potential. Placing the test within the wider process of becoming an optometrist helps you choose a test date, set a realistic score goal and leave enough time for an informed retake if necessary.

The OAT in Brief

  • The OAT has four multiple-choice sections: Survey of the Natural Sciences, Reading Comprehension, Physics and Quantitative Reasoning. Total administration time is five hours and five minutes, including optional activities and the scheduled break.
  • Every reported OAT score uses a 200 to 400 scale in 10-point increments. There is no official passing score, and the mean Academic Average across 2025 administrations was 307.8.
  • A good OAT score depends on the schools and admission routes you are targeting. Published guidance ranges from minimums near 300 to averages or special-program requirements in the 320 to 340 range and above.
  • The examination fee is $520 for administrations through June 30, 2026. Official scores reach your OAT PIN account and selected schools within three to four weeks.

What the OAT Is and Who Takes It

The OAT measures general academic ability and comprehension of scientific information. The OAT Program says most optometry schools in the United States and Canada require applicants to participate, although the result is only one part of the admission decision.

The exam is intended for prospective optometrists applying to Doctor of Optometry programs. If you are still distinguishing between an optometrist and ophthalmologist, remember that these are different training paths. Optometry applicants generally take the OAT or another test accepted by an optometry school. Prospective ophthalmologists first apply to medical school, where the MCAT is the relevant admission test.

ASCO counts 25 schools and colleges of optometry, 24 in the continental United States and one in Puerto Rico. Because each institution establishes its own admission criteria, accepting the OAT does not mean every school expects the same score. Your school list should guide your target rather than a single unofficial national cutoff.

OAT Sections and Test-Day Timing

The OAT contains four multiple-choice sections presented in Standard American English. Both U.S. customary and metric units may appear. The order, item counts and time limits below come from the OAT 2026 Candidate Guide.

Order, length and item count of each part of the OAT, from the OAT 2026 Candidate Guide administration schedule. Item counts are the guide's examination specifications. Candidates report to the test center 30 minutes before the appointment.
Part of the test dayScored itemsTime
Optional tutorialNot applicable15 minutes
Survey of the Natural Sciences100 (40 biology, 30 general chemistry, 30 organic chemistry)90 minutes
Reading Comprehension5060 minutes
Optional scheduled breakNot applicable30 minutes
Physics4050 minutes
Quantitative Reasoning4045 minutes
Optional post-test surveyNot applicable15 minutes
Total seat time2305 hours 5 minutes

The section table above shows 100 Survey of the Natural Sciences questions in 90 minutes. This section draws on first-year biology, general chemistry and organic chemistry, with 40 biology items, 30 general chemistry items and 30 organic chemistry items. An on-screen periodic table is available during general chemistry.

Reading Comprehension gives you 60 minutes for 50 questions based on three basic-science passages of roughly 1,000 to 1,500 words each. You do not need prior knowledge of the passages’ scientific subjects. The section tests whether you can identify, understand and analyze the information presented in the text.

Physics contains 40 questions in 50 minutes and covers material from a two-semester physics course. Its specifications include mechanics, energy and momentum, waves, fluids, thermodynamics, electrostatics, D.C. circuits and optics. Quantitative Reasoning contains 40 questions in 45 minutes, covering algebra, data analysis, quantitative comparison, probability, statistics and applied word problems. A digital calculator appears on screen only for Quantitative Reasoning.

The OAT Program anticipates renaming and expanding the listed subtopics in its organic chemistry specifications in June 2026. It describes this as a clearer presentation rather than a major content change. Use the specifications in effect on your own test date instead of relying on an older topic outline.

How Long the Entire Appointment Takes

Total administration time is five hours and five minutes, including the optional opening tutorial, scheduled break and post-test survey. You must arrive at least 30 minutes before your appointment. The only scheduled break comes after the first two sections and lasts up to 30 minutes. If you take it, the session restarts automatically when those 30 minutes end.

A brief tutorial appears before the scored questions to show you how the computer interface works. The timer pauses when a question is loading, so system loading time does not reduce your available testing time. Partial testing is not allowed, which means you must complete every assigned section.

How OAT Scoring Works

All OAT scores use a scale from 200 to 400 and are reported in 10-point increments. These are equated standard scores, not raw numbers correct or percentiles. Equating allows schools to compare results from candidates who received different versions of the exam. The test is not scored on a curve, and there is no official passing score because each optometry program decides what it considers acceptable.

You should answer every question. Guessing carries no penalty, while unanswered questions cannot add to your raw performance. Some questions are experimental and unscored, but they look the same as scored questions, so you cannot identify and skip them.

Academic Average and Total Science

The Academic Average is the mean of six standard scores: Quantitative Reasoning, Reading Comprehension, biology, general chemistry, organic chemistry and physics. Total Science is calculated from the raw performance across the 100 Survey of the Natural Sciences items and 40 physics items. It is not simply an average of the four science scale scores.

The following results cover 3,581 OAT administrations in 2025 and come from the 2025 OAT data tables.

Every score the OAT reports, with the mean and standard deviation across 3,581 administrations in 2025, from the OAT User's Guide 2025 data tables. Each score uses the same 200 to 400 scale.
Score reportedItems behind it2025 meanStandard deviation
Biology40309.452.41
General Chemistry30305.549.99
Organic Chemistry30298.848.65
Reading Comprehension50329.143.41
Physics40282.241.98
Quantitative Reasoning40316.646.35
Total Science140296.949.15
Academic Average230307.839.15

The score table above gives you a better reference point than the theoretical center of the scale alone. The reporting scale was recalibrated around an intended mean of 300, but actual averages can shift. In 2025, the mean Academic Average was 307.8, Reading Comprehension had the highest section mean at 329.1 and physics had the lowest at 282.2.

What Counts as a Good OAT Score

A good OAT score is one that supports your application at the specific schools you plan to attend. A score near 300 meets or approaches the minimums some schools publish, while other schools set their expectations higher. Compare your full score report with each school’s own guidance, its recent entering-class averages and the current OAT norms rather than judging your Academic Average alone.

Your section pattern matters as well. A competitive Academic Average can coexist with a weak individual section, and several schools publish expectations for every section. If you are deciding whether months of study fit your long-term plans, reviewing why optometry can be a strong career choice can help you evaluate the commitment beyond a single test result.

The Scores Optometry Schools Report and Recommend

There is no single national admitted-student OAT average. ASCO instead publishes averages for each entering class at each institution. When comparing optometry schools in the US, use these figures as context for building a balanced list, not as guaranteed admission thresholds.

The table below draws from the ASCO Profile of the 2025 Optometry Entering Class. It gives the average Academic Average and Total Science scores of the 2025 entering class at each school, counting only the students admitted on an OAT score.

Average OAT Academic Average and Total Science score of the 2025 entering class at each U.S. school and college of optometry, with the class GPA and the number of students who entered on an OAT score, from ASCO's Profile of the 2025 Optometry Entering Class. Schools are listed alphabetically, not ranked. Averages leave out students admitted on another test.
SchoolStateAverage Academic AverageAverage Total ScienceAverage GPAEntered on an OAT score
Arizona College of Optometry, Midwestern UniversityAZ3333273.6968
Chicago College of Optometry, Midwestern UniversityIL3243173.5456
Illinois College of OptometryIL3343313.59118
Indiana University School of OptometryINNot reportedNot reported3.780
Inter American University School of OptometryPR2802613.4024
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences School of OptometryMA3103023.2853
Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State UniversityMI3343283.7137
New England College of OptometryMA3313273.56128
Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of OptometryOK3233153.6827
Nova Southeastern University College of OptometryFL3253193.54103
Pacific University College of OptometryOR3213133.4986
Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Drexel University, Elkins ParkPA3062953.38122
Rocky Mountain University of Health Professions College of OptometryUT3072933.549
Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum UniversityCA3433403.54103
Southern College of OptometryTN3323233.68138
State University of New York College of OptometryNY3503503.6793
The Ohio State University College of OptometryOH3583593.8669
University of Alabama at Birmingham School of OptometryAL3293193.7155
University of California, Berkeley, Herbert Wertheim School of Optometry and Vision ScienceCA3603603.7645
University of Detroit Mercy School of OptometryMI303291.53.4627
University of Houston College of OptometryTX3373323.6197
University of Missouri, St. Louis College of OptometryMO3183043.541
University of Pikeville Kentucky College of OptometryKY3012883.5259
University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of OptometryTX3002803.3661
Western University of Health Sciences College of OptometryCA303.332983.2747

The school table above describes enrolled groups, not the minimum score needed by an individual applicant. An average means some matriculants scored higher and others lower. It also does not show how grades, interviews, service or clinical exposure affected each decision. Experiences such as shadowing and pre-optometry internships can help you understand the profession and discuss your interest clearly, but they do not erase a stated test minimum.

Published Minimums and Competitive Ranges

The Ohio State University College of Optometry says its admitted students generally average 320 to 340 in each section, Academic Average and Total Science, while scores below 300 are less competitive.

Its Class of 2029 profile reports a 358 Academic Average and a 359 Total Science average across 69 admitted students, which shows why one recent class can sit above the range a school publishes as typical.

Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry lists minimums of 300 Academic Average and 290 Total Science.

On its Doctor of Optometry program page, Nova Southeastern calls a score of 320 or higher competitive when it comes with a GPA of at least 3.4. The minimum decides whether you meet a stated requirement. The competitive figure is the better planning benchmark.

The Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University advises competitive applicants to earn at least 300 in each OAT section. Indiana University School of Optometry says a competitive applicant scores above 300 in all sections and currently requires the OAT.

Indiana is worth a second look. Its own admission page requires the OAT, while ASCO’s 2025 profile reported no OAT averages for Indiana and recorded its 92 matriculants under no exam, with a note that an exam was not required. Take the school’s current page as the instruction that applies to you.

Requirements may also differ for special admission routes. Pacific University asks for an Academic Average of at least 310, alongside its other conditions, in the guaranteed admission route open to its own undergraduates.

The SUNY College of Optometry Early Assurance Program requires both an Academic Average and Total Science score of at least 340. These figures apply to the named pathways, not necessarily to every applicant at those institutions.

OAT vs DAT and Other Accepted Tests

The OAT and DAT are both implemented through the ADA’s Department of Testing Services and both include Survey of the Natural Sciences, Reading Comprehension and Quantitative Reasoning. According to the DAT Program, the DAT replaces the OAT’s physics section with a Perceptual Ability Test. Its total administration time is five hours and 15 minutes, which is 10 minutes longer than the OAT.

The score scales are not comparable. OAT scores run from 200 to 400, while the DAT has used a 200 to 600 scale in 10-point increments since March 1, 2025. You should never convert one score into the other by treating the numbers as equivalent.

Every optometry school accepts the OAT, and many accept the DAT, MCAT or GRE instead, so policies vary. The Herbert Wertheim School of Optometry and Vision Science at UC Berkeley, for one, requires the OAT, DAT or MCAT from the Class of 2031 onward and no longer accepts the GRE.

If you are applying from outside the United States or weighing reasons to study optometry in the US, confirm the current test policy at every school on your list before you pay for an exam.

OAT Cost and Additional Fees

The OAT examination fee is $520 for administrations from July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026. The 2026 Candidate Guide fee schedule says this includes the test, an unofficial score report at the center, reporting to every school selected on your original application and reporting to an advisor if requested. The fee changes on July 1, 2026, so check the applicable amount before submitting payment.

Select your schools carefully when you apply. There is no additional charge for schools named on the original application, regardless of how many you select, but you cannot edit that recipient list after submission. A report requested later costs $55 per recipient. If you select at least one optometry school, your results are also sent to OptomCAS.

Other possible charges include $105 for a score audit and $150 for a one-time 45-day eligibility extension. Rescheduling costs $50 with at least 30 business days’ notice, $70 with 5 to 29 business days and $150 with 1 to 4 business days. Fees are nonrefundable, nontransferable and charged in U.S. dollars. A no-show, or arrival more than 30 minutes after the appointment when admission is refused, forfeits the full testing fee.

Partial Fee Waivers

A limited number of waivers cover 50 percent of the examination fee for candidates facing severe financial hardship. They are distributed first come first served beginning January 1 and do not cover rescheduling or score reports ordered after the original application.

To qualify, you must be a first-time examinee who has not received a waiver before, received financial aid through your institution and meets the listed citizenship or residency conditions. Obtain an OAT PIN before requesting the waiver and allow up to 10 business days for review.

Registration, Testing Dates and Retakes

OAT registration begins by obtaining an OAT Personal Identification Number. You then submit an application through the OAT Program, name your score recipients and schedule with Prometric after eligibility is confirmed. Each testing attempt requires a new application. A processed application normally creates a six-month eligibility window, although retest rules or program requirements can shorten it.

Enter your identity information carefully. The name on your application must exactly match the identification presented at the test center or you will be denied admission and lose the fee. Name or birthdate corrections must be completed at least two weeks before the appointment. At check-in, Prometric captures identity biometrically, such as through a photograph, fingerprint or palm vein scan.

When to Take the OAT

Most candidates complete at least two years of college before testing, and successful candidates typically have completed biology, general chemistry and organic chemistry. The OAT Program encourages applicants to test well before the admission cycle. Allow additional time if you may need a retake.

Official results reach your OAT PIN account and selected schools within three to four weeks. School deadlines make that processing period important. Ohio State requires scores by March 1. Indiana also requires official scores by March 1 and suggests testing by November 30. SUNY Optometry recommends July, August or September of the application year and sets February 28 as its testing deadline. Follow the earliest requirement on your own school list rather than planning around the last possible date.

Retake Rules

You must wait 60 days between attempts and may take the OAT no more than four times in any 12-month period. After four administrations within that period, you must wait until 12 months have passed from the first of those four attempts.

Once you have three or more attempts, you need permission to test again and must provide evidence of a recent optometry school application. After a fifth attempt, you may test only once per 12-month period. Schools receive a history of all attempts, and you cannot ask to void a score after completing any part of the exam. A retake is therefore most useful when you can identify what will materially change in your preparation.

Official OAT Practice Materials

The OAT Program offers a full official practice test for $100. It contains six timed modules and takes three hours and 35 minutes without a break. You must complete it within 24 hours of purchase. The questions are written by OAT test constructors and follow the specifications and format of the actual exam.

You can instead buy individual modules for $20 each. Biology contains 40 items, organic chemistry 30, general chemistry 30, Reading Comprehension 25, Quantitative Reasoning 40 and physics 40. The Reading Comprehension module carries 25 items rather than the 50 you face on test day, so the practice package is not a full dress rehearsal.

The official OAT application and practice page is useful for learning the question style and computer format. The OAT Program warns that practice questions do not predict your eventual score and should not be your only preparation. It does not endorse commercial preparation courses and says it has no data on their content or effectiveness.

Prometric’s Test Drive serves a different purpose. It walks you through scheduling, check-in and the test center environment, then provides a 15-minute generic sample test. Use the official practice modules to understand OAT-style questions and Test Drive to reduce uncertainty about the testing process itself.

Planning Your OAT Attempt

Start with the current specifications, identify the expectations of every school on your list and choose a test date that leaves room for the score delivery window described above. If your target programs publish section-level guidance, prepare for those individual expectations rather than focusing only on the Academic Average.

Before submitting your application, confirm the fee period, recipient list and exact name match. A careful registration decision protects your testing fee, while an early test date preserves options if your first result does not support your school list. Treat the OAT as an important part of your application, but keep building the academic record, experience and understanding of optometry that schools assess alongside it.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Long Does the OAT Take?

The OAT takes five hours and five minutes in total, including the optional tutorial, one scheduled break and the post-test survey. The four scored sections account for four hours and five minutes, and you should arrive at least 30 minutes before your appointment.

What Is a Good OAT Score?

A good OAT score depends on your target schools, but published guidance shows why many applicants look beyond 300. Ohio State says admitted students generally average 320 to 340 and scores below 300 are less competitive, while Nova Southeastern describes 320 or higher as competitive when it comes with a GPA of at least 3.4.

Is There a Passing OAT Score?

No. The OAT Program does not set an official passing score. Scores range from 200 to 400, and each optometry school determines what it considers acceptable or competitive.

How Is the OAT Different From the DAT?

The OAT tests physics, while the DAT uses a Perceptual Ability Test instead. The DAT Program reports a total administration time 10 minutes longer than the OAT and a 200 to 600 score scale, so DAT and OAT numbers cannot be compared directly.

How Much Does the OAT Cost?

The OAT costs $520 for administrations through June 30, 2026. That fee includes the test, an unofficial score report and reporting to schools selected when you apply. The fee changes on July 1, 2026. Score reports ordered after you apply, and rescheduling, cost extra.

Is an OAT Fee Waiver Available?

Yes, but it is a limited partial waiver. It covers 50 percent of the examination fee for eligible first-time candidates with severe financial hardship. It does not cover rescheduling or score reports requested after the original application.

How Soon Do Schools Receive OAT Scores?

Schools you selected receive official scores within three to four weeks of your test date. You ordinarily receive an unofficial scale-score report at the test center when your session ends, but schools use the official report.

Can I Use a Calculator on the OAT?

Yes, but only the on-screen digital calculator provided for Quantitative Reasoning. The OAT also supplies an on-screen periodic table during the general chemistry portion of Survey of the Natural Sciences.

Articles of your interest

About IMA

International Medical Aid provides global internship opportunities  for students and clinicians who are looking to broaden their horizons and experience healthcare on an international level. These program participants have the unique opportunity to shadow healthcare providers as they treat individuals who live in remote and underserved areas and who don’t have easy access to medical attention. International Medical Aid also provides medical school admissions consulting to individuals applying to medical school and PA school programs. We review primary and secondary applications, offer guidance for personal statements and essays, and conduct mock interviews to prepare you for the admissions committees that will interview you before accepting you into their programs. IMA is here to provide the tools you need to help further your career and expand your opportunities in healthcare.